Ka'ila wins Honoring the Northwest Award

June 18, 2016


 "Sacred Survivance." Oil painting on canvas, 48" x 24," 2015.

Last night was the opening and awards ceremony for the 11th annual "In the Spirit: Contemporary Native Arts" exhibit at the Washington History Museum in Tacoma, WA. Ka'ila was awarded the "Honoring the Northwest" Award for her painting "Sacred Survivance," an oil painting created in 2015. 


She says "This piece began through exploring abstract mark-making techniques used in printmaking processes, such as: dragging color with squeegees, applying and removing palette knife paint, and using tape to stencil hard-edge designs to create a dichotomy of organic and graphic qualities. The piece developed into an abstract landscape inspired by the Cascade Mountain Range that surrounded me while working at the Caldera Artist Residency for a month in January 2015. At this time I was empowered by the many Indigenous groups that were dancing, singing, walking and witnessing for the protection of their sacred mountains. From the Hawaiians resisting development on their sacred Mauna Loa, the Winnemem Wintu protecting sacred sites on Mt. Shasta to the Diné Navajo Walkers witnessing destruction due to fracking from the San Francisco Peaks to Mt. Taylor. This piece honors Indigenous connection to ancestral homelands. "


This is her third time winning the Honoring the Northwest award at In The Spirit, as well as taking "Best in Show" in 2014 for her painting "M is for Mak'Lak, W is for White: Authentic NDN Design," which is currently on view at the "NW Art Now" exhibit at the Tacoma Art Museum on view through the summer until September 4, 2016.


In the Spirit Exhibition Dates: May 28- August 14th, 2016

In the Spirit Festival: August 13th, 2016 (Free Museum Day)


Congratulations to this year's selected IN THE SPIRIT artists!

Philip H. Red Eagle
Kathey Ervin
Chholing P. Taha
Ruth Whitener
Ka'ila Farrell-Smith
Justin McCarthy
Earl Davis
Jennifer Angaiak Wood
Kenny Waltman
Terresa White
Leah Thomason Bromberg
Lillian Pitt
Denny Sparr Hurtado
Tony Boyd
Crystal Worl
Jeffrey Veregge
Linley B. Logan
Bernice Akamine
Charles W Bloomfield
Ramon Murillo
Misty Kalama-Archer




Please reload

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook App Icon

© 2020, Ka'ila Farrell-Smith.